Getting caught driving with a suspended license can lead to serious consequences.
If your license is revoked in the State of Illinois for a DUI conviction in Illinois or another state, DUI driver's license lawyer John W. Callahan can help. As a license reinstatement lawyer who has helped hundreds of people get their license reinstated after being revoked for DUI in Illinois, John W. Callahan has the experience needed for you. Paying Your Reinstatement Fee. To pay your reinstatement fee(s), you will be directed to a web page for you to enter the driver's license number for the person owing the reinstatement fee. If you do not have the driver's license number, you may enter the complete name and date of birth and our system will attempt to locate the appropriate record. Reinstatement of Revoked Licenses. If your license is revoked for any reason, you CANNOT apply for reinstatement for at least 1 year. DUI Revocations in IL. If you are convicted of a criminal DUI in Illinois, your driver's license will be revoked. A revocation of your license is an indefinite loss of your driving privileges. Illinois drivers license suspension, revocation or cancellation can occur as a result of various driving and non-driving violations. Suspended drivers licenses in IL are temporarily withdrawn from the driver by the Secretary of State until all requirements for drivers license reinstatement are met. If your Illinois driver's license has been revoked, you will need to attend a Secretary of State hearing to get your license reinstated or a restricted driving permit. It is extremely important to have an experienced attorney representing you during this process.
License suspension is when your driving privileges have been temporarily withdrawn, generally for a set period of time. Revocation, on the other hand, is when your license is terminated and there is no guarantee of reinstatement.
Why Would My License Get Suspended?
Stata free trial. There are a number of reasons you could have your driving privileges taken away. These include:
Illinois Driver License Status Check
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI): Drivers under the age of 21 who are found to have any trace of alcohol in their systems will have their driving privileges taken away. The same goes for drugs: any trace detected will lead to a DUI charge.
- Breaking Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Rules: If you are convicted of a moving violation or serious offense, you can lose your driving privileges.
- During the permit phase, if you are convicted of a moving violation you will have to wait an additional 9 months before you may apply for your Illinois drivers license.
- If you are under 18 and have traffic tickets that you have not taken care of, you will not be allowed to get your driver’s license.
- After you get your drivers license, if you are convicted of 2 moving violations within a 24-month period, you will face a 1-month (or more) license suspension. The suspension length depends on the offense committed.
- Failure to Appear: Ignoring a traffic ticket won’t make it go away, it will only make things worse. If your citation remains unsatisfied (you don’t pay the fine or don’t appear as required), your license can be suspended.
How Do I Get My License Back?
There is no one set of requirements for a driver to get his/her license back. The process for reinstating your license depends on the reason your license was suspended/revoked, as well as other factors like your driving history. Typically, you will have to do the following:
- Pay a reinstatement fee.
- Satisfy any specific requirements made by the court.
Illinois Revoked License Reinstatement Requirements
Reinstating a revoked license is trickier, and there are typically more steps to follow. For example, to get your license back after a DUI conviction, you must:
- Have kept a clear driving record.
- Have an alcohol/drug evaluation.
- If an alcohol/drug problem is noted, you must submit proof of treatment.
- Complete an alcohol/drug remedial education program.
- Meet with a Secretary of State hearing officer.
- File proof of financial responsibility.
- Pay the $500 reinstatement fee and application fee.
If you request a formal hearing for reinstatement, you will need to a pay a $50 nonrefundable filing fee.
- Pass a written exam, a driving exam, and a vision exam.
Your drivers license reinstatement only becomes valid when it is entered on your driver’s record in the Secretary of State’s office.
Losing your driving privileges isn’t a fun experience, but the penalties are designed to keep you from breaking the rules again. Drive safely and you’ll avoid all the hassle.